The Creative Nonfiction Foundation

About Us

The Creative Nonfiction Foundation inspires and supports writers of true stories by providing publishing venues and educational opportunities for a diverse range of creative nonfiction writing and writers; serves as a strong advocate for the genre, helping define the ethics and parameters of the field; and aims to broaden the genre’s impact not only in the publishing world but also in the arts, humanities, and sciences.

The Creative Nonfiction Foundation was incorporated in 1994 and is a private not-for-profit 501(c)(3) organization.

The Creative Nonfiction Foundation is supported by public and private funds contributed by the Pennsylvania Council on the Arts, the Juliet Lea Hillman Simonds Foundation, the Vira I. Heinz Endowment, and the Jewish Healthcare Foundation, as well as by other foundations and individual donors.


Creative Nonfiction Editorial Advisory Board

Diane Ackerman 
Buzz Bissinger 
Edwidge Danticat 
Annie Dillard 
Dave Eggers 
Jonathan Franzen 
Tracy Kidder 
Jeanne Marie Laskas
Rick Moody 
Susan Orlean 
Francine Prose 
Ruth Reichl 
Richard Rodriguez 
Rebecca Skloot
Gay Talese
James Wolcott